In blog, Sports-News

After an exciting and unpredictable 2015 MLB Season, the Kansas City Royals were able to avenge their last year’s upset and win the World Series, becoming the first team since the 1988-89 Athletics to win the World Series the year after losing it.

The series against the New York Mets, left Royals backstop Salvador Perez as the World Series MVP, after catching all, but the final inning of the Fall Classic. For ALCS MVP, the winner was Alcides Escobar, who hit .478 (11-for-23), with five RBIs and six runs. Daniel Murphy hit .529 (9-for-17) four HRs, six RBIs and six runs scored in the Mets sweep, becoming NLCS MVP.

Last Thursday, November 19th, MLB announced the 2015 award winners, closing the chapter of this year’s season. Here are the winners of some of the most popular recognitions.

Best booking optionMost Valuable Player

This year’s Most Valuable Player Award winner of the National League is Washington Nationals outfielder Bryce Harper, who with only 22 years of age, became the youngest unanimous winner ever and the youngest to earn the honor since Vida Blue became the youngest in history in 1971.

In the American League, Toronto Blue Jays third baseman, Josh Donaldson was named the MVP, thanks to his remarkable season and leading role inside the team, pushing the Blue Jays to the playoffs.

Traded by the A’s to the Blue Jays last November, Donaldson provided Toronto’s first trip to the postseason since 1993. His performances allowed him to gain 23 of the possible 30 first place votes, leaving Trout behind. As for Harper, it was a completely different story, taking all 30 first-place votes leaving no chance for the opponents.

CY Young Award

This year’s best MLB pitchers were the emerging athletes, Dallas Keuchel, and Jake Arrieta, respectively winning the American League and National League 2015 CY Young Award.

Pitcher Baseball PlayerAstros lefty ace provided to his team their 3rd CY Young Award. As for Chicago Cubs right-handed pitcher, was the first time to reach the award since Maddux earned the honor in 1992.

Keuchel took 22 first-place votes prevailing in the AL race, besting runner-up David Price of the Toronto Blue Jays and third-place finisher Sonny Gray of the Oakland A’s.

Meanwhile, with only 17 first place votes, Arrieta won the award over Dodgers right-hander Zack Greinke and Dodgers lefty Clayton Kershaw.

Other Awards

After hitting 22 homers and 22 doubles, Astros shortstop Carlos Correa was named AL Rookie of the Year and Cubs Kris Bryant had the same honor for the National League.

For Manager of the Year, in the American League, Rangers Jeff Banister took the honor. As for the National League, Cubs manager Joe Maddon couldn’t have a better season since he received the award in his first year at the helm for the Cubs.

Recent Posts